Press Release from United States Rep. John Rose, R-TN06, March 26, 2019:


WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman John Rose voted again today to support President Trump’s efforts to build a wall. Rose’s support of the President’s authority came as he voted against House Democrats’ efforts to override the President’s veto of a bill intended to block the President’s emergency declaration to secure the border.

“In order to protect the funding for the border wall that President Trump secured by declaring a national emergency at our southern border, I voted against Speaker Nancy Pelosi’s latest attempt to terminate President Trump’s ability to declare such an emergency. I support the President’s authority to declare a national emergency to resolve the crisis at our nation’s border. This emergency declaration is fully within the President’s lawful powers, and I stand with the people of Tennessee’s Sixth Congressional District in our shared desire to fully secure our border.”

The President, following recommendations by national security officials, requested $5.7 billion to secure our southern border. Democrats refused to meet the President’s funding requests, allocating only $1.3 billion. Following this, the President declared a national emergency on February 15 invoking powers granted to the President under federal statute.

The House Democratic Majority responded by bringing legislation to the House Floor on February 26 to terminate the President’s emergency declaration, which Congressman Rose voted against. The bill passed the House over Congressman Rose’s opposition and then passed the Senate, but was vetoed by President Trump on March 15.

Today, Congressman Rose’s vote against Speaker Pelosi’s failed attempt to override the President’s veto (requiring a two-thirds majority vote) reaffirmed his support for President Trump and the emergency funding for a wall to secure our southern border.

Congressman John Rose represents Tennessee’s Sixth Congressional District and resides in Cookeville with his wife, Chelsea, and their son, Guy. The Sixth District includes Cannon, Clay, Coffee, Cumberland, DeKalb, Fentress, Jackson, Macon, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Robertson, Smith, Sumner, Trousdale, White, and Wilson counties as well as portions of Cheatham and Van Buren counties.